To Garbanzo Bean Vegetable Soup

This past week my sister was a tad ill so I thought I would make her some soup. She didn’t care what kind of soup, so I thought I would make this garbanzo bean vegetable soup for her. This soup is perfect to take to work or to eat on a cold fall day. It warmed me right up after cleaning my parent’s pool this afternoon. It’s a meal in itself and while leaving you full, it doesn’t turn you into a slug.

Insatiably|Garbanzo Bean Vegetable Soup

It is definitely hearty, with big chunks of leeks and zucchini and is overflowing with a rich tomato flavor. I paired this with some homemade French Bread (sneak peek at my next recipe) and topped with fresh shredded parmesan and I was able to forget about the cold temps outside and thaw out my fingers a little.

Recipe: Serves 4-6

Ingredients:
2 tbsp. olive oil
2 medium leeks, washed and sliced into chunks
2 zucchini, cut into chunks
2 garlic cloves, minced
4 cups canned chopped tomatoes
2 tbsp. tomato paste
1 fresh bay leaf
3 3/4 cup vegetable broth
1 can (15oz) garbanzo beans
8 oz (3 huge handfuls or so) spinach, shredded
salt and pepper to taste

parmesan to top*

*omit the parmesan on top and you have a vegan meal

Insatiably|Garbanzo Bean Vegetable Soup

Directions:
Heat the oil in a large pan, add the leeks and zucchini and briskly cook for 5 minutes, stirring constantly
Add the garlic, tomatoes, tomato paste, bay leaf, vegetable broth, and garbanzo beans and stir to mix well
Bring to a boil and simmer for 5 minutes
Add the shredded spinach and cook for 2 minutes. Season with salt and pepper
Discard the bay leaf, grate fresh parmesan on top and serve alongside bread (preferably of the homemade kind).

Cheers

n

Leave a Reply

