To Vegan Lemon Coconut Bundt Cake

Lemon Coconut Bundt Cake

Continuing my theme of sun, I bring you this decadent bundt cake. Oh yes, lemon and coconut pair ohhh so perfectly together in this luscious cake. The smell of it baking in your oven will make your mouth water. It was the percfct break to thesis writing aka procrastination at its finest. If I haven’t bored you yet with my thesis topic be grateful, but reading and writing on asylum seekers, refugees and dire humanitarian issues is a tad saddening. Don’t get me wrong I love my topic, but I need some joy in my life too. This cake – yep totally joyous.

Lemon Coconut Bundt Cake

Gosh if there is not already a lemon coconut cake yankee candle there sure ought to be. I wish I could just bottle up the smell of my apartment right now.

Lemon Coconut Bundt Cake

Now the photographing of this little star sure was a battle of daylight. Super grateful we have the sun longer, but man I wasn’t the best with time management on this one. I think I was able to capture a few good shots though – it was a bit of an acrobatic act. My roommates can fill you in on that one.

You have to zest and juice quite a few lemons but its worth it. Ohhh so worth it.

Recipe from Feasting at Home –> Be sure to check out her photos in daylight they are stunning

Ingredients:
1 1/2 C sugar
2/3 C canola or olive oil
1 can coconut milk ( 13.5-14 oz)
1/2 C meyer lemon juice ( 3 -4 lemons)
3 T meyer lemon zest, dont skimp
2 tsp vanilla
3 C flour
2 tsp  baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 C shredded coconut (for extra nuttiness, lightly toast!) – unsweetened or sweetened

Directions:

Lemon Coconut Bundt Cake

Preheat oven  to 350 F
In a large bowl mix,  sugar, oil, coconut milk, lemon juice, zest, vanilla.

Sift in flour, baking powder, salt, and baking soda mixing in batches. Mix well after each addition.

Add coconut – stirring lightly. You don’t want to over-stir as that will lead to a tough cake.

Grease bundt pan and pour mixture in.

Bake 50-60 minutes, be sure to check in on it ever 20 minutes or so.

Let it cool completely before inverting (not what I did – it cracked a tad – but yet again I was battling time – priorities – was not gonna wait until the morning to eat some of this greatness).

Invert the bundt pan gently onto a cake plate. Or easier still, place plate over the bundt cake then invert both. Sprinkle with powder sugar or drizzle the top with icing.

If you would like to go the icing route, check out the original recipe (linked above).
DSC00642

Eat your cake and have your pictures too

Cheers

n

2 thoughts on “To Vegan Lemon Coconut Bundt Cake

Leave a Reply

