To Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

Hello friends. Well it certainly has been a tad longer between my posts and I’ll be frank – these past 2 weeks were super gloomy weather wise, giving me absolutely no chance at snapping adequate photos of the things I was cooking and baking (because I certainly did both). I got two of my roommates addicted to Poppy Chow –> really you want to make that stuff and asap. Plenty of salads were gorged on. Divine Lacey Chocolate Oatmeal Vegan Cookies were made – and I will just have to make them again to get a proper photo (can you believe that cookie culprit) and then I will share the recipe with you (:  Lots of black bean tacos were eaten and quite a few smoothies have been gulped down before I was dashing for the door. I’ve been relying a bit on the buses these past 2 weeks and well a few too many times I was that crazy running across campus because I booked things a tad too close together. Ohh and I wear a red coat, so yes I did in fact look like little red riding hood. Good thing my campus doesn’t have woods…

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies (3)

But back to food, did I mention for 5 days my kitchen person (roommate) desserted me. I mean nobody gets as excited as her for hot out of the oven cookies (but my other roommate did fall in love with the one batch of cookies I did make during those lonely 5 days). Gosh there I go again mentioning something I made with no proof of its existence. Hopefully the gloomy weather is behind us, because I wanna share stuff with you, I really do. Unfortunately these little chocolate studded gems have already been shared and gobbled up.

Recipe (Adapted From Oh She Glows) (2 changes, accidentally added baking powder, and used whole wheat flour instead of whole wheat pastry flour, need to re-stock up on pastry flour…verdict –> delicious)

Yield: 2 dozen medium cookies
Ingredients:
1/2 cup Earth Balance
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup cane sugar (or use white)
1 flax egg: (1 tbsp ground flaxed mixed with 3 tbsp water)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (vegan friendly)
Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. In a small bowl, mix together the flax and water for your flax egg and set aside.
With an electric mixer or in a stand mixer, beat the Earth Balance until fluffy. Add the brown sugar and cane sugar and beat for 1-2 minutes until creamy. Beat in the flax egg.
Beat in the remaining ingredients (baking soda, baking powder, salt, 2 flours, cinnamon) and fold in the chocolate chips.
Using a 1in cookie scoop (or two forks and your hands) form balls of dough and place on the baking sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Allow to cool for 5 minutes on the baking sheet and then transfer to a cooling rack for another 10 minutes.

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies (2)Cheers
n

Leave a Reply

