To Aloha Granola

The holidays had come and gone and I still had not gotten a peep at the family holiday greetings card. What’s up with that – I was written about so should at the very least be able to see what was said. Well dad kept saying yeah I’ll print one off for you. That day never came – I took matters into my own hands and found it on the family computer – I felt like I belonged on CSI for 2.2 nanoseconds. Well low and behold there was a nice paragraph on me…until the worrisome last sentence in which dad references that I have not disclosed my post-grad plans with him so they are not too sure what my plan is. Well dad – I have a legit plan, it involves overcoming a master’s thesis alongside many job applications first, but I will not be homeless in 6 months – that I know (I always can move back in with you just like all the other offspring of the baby boomers have done). My not so legit plan (even though my tastebuds are totally on board) go into the granola business. A gal can dream. And if plan A of finding a big girl job does fail well then maybe I can combine plan B of the granola business and free rent and run the business out of the basement of your house dad. Now that is starting to sound more legit. Don’t you think? Aloha Granola

This granola will get you glowing from the inside out, day or night, sun or snow and it will transport you to that Beach in Hawaii 

Recipe adapted from: Food.com

Ingredients:

4 cups old fashioned oats
2 cups golden flakes cereal
1/4 cup finely chopped almonds
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup raw sunflower seed, shelled
1/4 cup flax seed meal
2 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil, plus
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/2 cup honey, plus
2 tablespoons honey
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 cup brown sugar (packed)
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 -4 cups dried fruit –> I chose pineapple, kiwi and raisins. I dehydrated my own pineapples and kiwis so there was no added sugar there either. You can use store bought though if you don’t own a dehydrator.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 300.

In a very large bowl mix together the first set of  ingredients (oats, cereal, almonds, flour, sunflower seeds, flax and shredded coconut)

Combine in a sauce pan olive oil, honey, vanilla, brown sugar, and salt (you want it to come together and be homogenous, if you still see a layer of oil, use a whisk to stir it together).

Heat on low-medium heat until all are dissolved and form a”syrup”.

Pour the”syrup” from the sauce pan into the very large bowl with the dry ingredient (keep the dried fruit set aside).

Stir together with a large spatula.

Divide the mixture evenly across two 9×13 baking sheets, lined with baking parchment

Bake at 300F for 30 minutes. After the first 15 minutes pull out and mix up the granola a bit (the ends tend to get darker quicker). Cook for the second 15 minutes and be sure to mix the granola up again before returning them to the oven for 8-10 minutes at 250F. If you try to cook the granola on too high a temperature you will burn it and that won’t be tasty.

All the granola to cool completely and then add the dried fruit. Some people bake their dried fruit but I prefer my raisins to be fresh plump and the rest of my fruit was already dried

Store in an airtight container or ziplock bags.

Cheers to raiding parents kitchen cupboards for just a few more days (:

n

One thought on “To Aloha Granola

Leave a Reply

