Wise Turkish Words

A couple weeks ago my professor and I ran into each other and he asked me this:

karadenizde gemilerin mi battı?

“Did you see your ships sink in the Black Sea?”

He said I looked very sad when walking down the campus hill the other day, and wanted to make sure I didn’t have too much on my mind. And all I could think was “wow if I look that sad coming down the hill, how sad do I look going up the hil?” It’s a big hill.

But it boasts a fantastic view of the Bosphorous:

SONY DSC

Life has been a tad academic heavy over here, but just a few more weeks and I shall be back home. Tis my goal to make it seem like this Turkish saying is not a reality of my life, because seeing my ships – yes plural – sink in the Black Sea is not an accurate description of my current life, rather the complete opposite no matter how much I am loathing the final push of the semester.

Cheers from someone whose ships have not sunk

n

Leave a Reply

