To Vegan Cinnamon Oat Pancakes

It’s starting to turn into fall here in Istanbul. Leaves are falling, the rains are coming and the temperatures are hovering in the 60s. My hair tells me that the humidity is still present though…something I am not sure ever leaves this city. I’ve been trying to get my full share of fall food here, but it is a tad more difficult than normal. Instead I have been baking with a lot of oats and cinnamon and that is leaving me content. Decided to make my Thursday morning a tad more special and cook myself up some flapjacks. That and I really wanted some maple syrup.

So I leave you with a vegan version of some delicious looking pancakes that I found on Sunday Hotpants while surfing the blogosphere (:


Ingredients: (recipe adapted from Sunday Hotpants

makes 6 medium sized pancakes

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup soy milk

1 1/2 Tbsp. Brown Sugar

1 Tbsp. Olive Oil

1/2 Flaxseed egg (1/2 Tbsp. Flax + 1 1/2 Tbsp. water soaked for 10 minutes)

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. salt

Directions:

Place the oats in a bowl, cover with milk and set aside to soak for 10 minutes. Prepare your flaxseed egg.

Add the brown sugar, olive oil and flaxseed egg to the soaked oats and stir.

Add the remaining dry ingredients, and stir to combine.

Using a 1/4 cup measuring cup, ladle your pancake batter onto a hot and ready pan. (when water drops skip across the pan it is hot enough – and remember to cook on low temp otherwise your pancakes might burn)

Top with your fruit of the day – I went with a pear to further the fall spirit and to prove that I eat other fruits besides bananas

Cheers from my Turkish Kitchen

n

2 thoughts on “To Vegan Cinnamon Oat Pancakes

Leave a Reply

