To Cinnamon Zucchini Bread

While my parents were here I invested a few lira into two really cute bundt pans. Until this bread I had not taken advantage of my new baking purchases. Fear no more. Now the bundt pans are unfortunately not the most compatible with this recipe (do to flipping and streusel and yadayadayada, let alone I had way too much batter to just fit in the two little guys so I also made an 8X8 bread like cake with a cinnamon streusel on top. Heaven.

All three forms were delicious and in fact the cake was loved by my two friends who I had over for a falafel dinner the night I made this. We are all about the group meals over here and if we can have dessert with it too, well then we are happy study abroaders.

This recipe is fantastic. I should have followed Eva’s lead and halved the recipe, but I wanted to make sure there would be enough bread to go around. 1 loaf – halve the recipe. 2 loaves – keep the full recipe.

Ingredients

3 eggs

1/4 cup of olive oil

1/2 cup of yogurt

2 cups white sugar (I only used 1 1/2 cups)

2 cups grated zucchini (I used about 3 1/2 – 4 cups)

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

3 cups all-purpose flour

3 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg (omitted because I don’t have here in Turkey)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

Streusel topping (recipe follows)

Directions 
Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Grease and flour two 9×5 inch loaf pans.

In a large bowl, beat eggs until light and frothy. Add in oil, applesauce and sugar and combine well. Gently stir in zucchini and vanilla. Combine flour, cinnamon, soda, baking powder and salt and stir into the egg mixture. Evenly divide the batter into prepared pans.

For the streusel topping, combine 3/4 cup flour, 1/4 cup granulated white sugar and 2 tsp cinnamon into a small bowl. Cut in 1/2 cup of room temperature butter (1 stick) until coarse crumbs form. Sprinkle the topping onto each bread loaf.

Bake for 60 to 70 minutes, or until done.

Yield: Two 9×5 inch loaves (I got two small bundts and an 8×8 cake)

Toaster oven approved (:

Cheers from my Turkish Kitchen

n

One thought on “To Cinnamon Zucchini Bread

  1. Pingback: İstanbul: Spice Bazaar and Surrounding Area | insatiably

Leave a Reply

