An “off” week in Istanbul

Lately I have been a tad “off my game”. I have been having some serious struggles with keeping my mind focused and things that would never happen to me (that might be a stretch), but not happening with such frequency are just making me realize I just have to laugh it all off. I realized I probably look like hell too because when I came into a cafe and sat down the manager offered to get me something and when I responded cay he followed it up by asking a big one? Yeah, he realized that I was having a hellish day(s).  Here is a run-down of my past few days and their mishaps…

#1 – I fell flat on my face walking down the street. Yep in Ankara on my first day I might have fallen on my bottom because I slipped, but this time nope, it was really a case of tripping over my own feet and landing in an awkward lump on the ground with my ridiculously heavy backpack slamming into me too. 

#2 – Getting motion sickness on the longest bus ride ever. The traffic was awful and I was fairing horribly. Granted my friend actually got off the bus because she wasn’t gonna make it, but I was struggling major. Changed seats on the bus 4 times –> that should never happen.

#3 – If it is electronic well that there is a good chance that it had an empty battery than a full battery this week. Literally I was without my phone or computer at every inopportune time. This campus lacks the combination of outlets, bathrooms and internet. Usually can get one, maybe two but all three is a rare find. RARE! But hey when I finally would get a charge I would have lots of messages which made me feel oh so popular. Granted some were of this sort “CHARGE YOUR FREAKING PHONE” – 16 hour days aways from my home is not something I can continue. I am on the end of my treading abilities. 

#4 – Finally getting a professor to email you back with the message of “discuss this matter with my TA” who you already emailed a trillion times and NEVER responds to you. Important matters need to be figured out.

#5 – Searching high and low for a bank to make a deposit to not be able to do so because well you are a foreigner. The Turkish banking system and me are having difficulties. Kinda just a hate relationship – no love there. My moneycard for the Turkish account I had to open still has yet to make an appearance. NBD.

#6 – It’s 3am, a friend and I were a good half hour from our campus and we had 18 Lira between the two of us. That’s barely $10 and usually cab fares from there are much more. So I find myself bargaining with a cab driver at 3:30 to get us home and voila we get home. But what we really want is food and while we found another 2 Lira while in the cab, no food places are open anymore!!! How did we get in this predicament – well we thought there was a 3am shuttle – oops. 

Ok no more complaining (there are many many more). There are a few highlights though – had a bangin’ spinach crepe last night at a cool waterfront beer point while watching the soccer game and meeting a friend, we had beautiful 80s weather this week (: Allergies have subsided a bit, I’m making some research progress, I got my transport card (reason I endured the really long motion sickness bus ride), checked out a new breakfast place and oh yeah I rocked a cinnamon zucchini bread (post to come)

Cheers from a struggler

Hope your week has been fairing better

n

Leave a Reply

