To Figilicious Overnight Oats

Fig obsession continues post vacation. I have already eaten about a half kilo in two days – and I just can’t stop. I want them for all my snacks and incorporated into all my meals and I just want them. I really do. I just want to gobble all of them up that I see. Completely and utterly unable to practice self-constraint around these bad boys. All I can say is at least they are a fruit – if they were in the abur cubur (junk food in Turkish) family well I would be a little SOL now wouldn’t I? But they aren’t so I am gonna continue to enjoy them with no shame.

Gettin’ Figgy with it – nah nah nah nah nanah nahhhh

Ok recipe time. Tweaked a bit from my basic overnight oats recipe.

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp. Chia Seeds

2 Tbsp. Ground Flax

1/4 cup oats

1/2 cup milk

1/4 cup water

cinnamon

the pulp of 3 big fresh refrigerated figs (the green ones – nom nom nom)

maple syrup

Directions:

Mix all of the ingredients except the maple syrup together and put in the fridge overnight. In the morning drizzle with syrup and nuts if you have them (I recommend pecans but I didn’t have any – all I have right now are pistachios and well I was digging that combo).

Dive in and enjoy all the figginess. May actually have to up it to the pulp of 4 figs next time….

and I will also have to work on the presentation of this fine breakfast because it doesn’t look nearly as appetizing as it tastes…aka reason for my decision to not include a picture.

Instead I will leave you with some interesting facts about the fabulous fig

– Top three producers are Turkey (woot woot), Greece and California

– Figs were one of the first fruits ever cultivated

– Figs are a fiber source

– Figs contain good levels of potassium, magnesium, iron, copper and manganese

– Dried figs are a great source of calcium (250mg per 100g as opposed to milk at just 118mg)

Cheers from the #1 fig producer

n

 

2 thoughts on “To Figilicious Overnight Oats

Leave a Reply

