To Plum Coffee Cake Muffins

Plums – good

Coffee cake – good

Muffins – good

Combining the three – great (:

Now these are dedicated (maybe only a partial dedication since I actually don’t know how she feels about plums) but a dedication nonetheless to my good friend Allyce and future roommate for Spring 2013 (:

I have never met someone who loves coffeecake as much as her – it’s one of those things where I hear, see, or eat coffeecake and I immediately think of her. You know kinda like Jimmy Buffett songs make me want a margarita, pizza = Napoli and my stomach and I will never be able to think of Nescafe without remembering my days of drinking it by the gallon with my Turkish host sister (I still have 30 or so of those days left so I shouldn’t get ahead of myself) – some things just have an everlasting bond that no matter how hard you try and break it won’t happen – it just won’t.

It’s so bad anytime I see a coffeecake recipe now I just have to make it for her – I should just stockpile the recipes for the spring so that she can be my taste tester – I mean she is the ultimate taste tester (:

Now Allyce is spending her summer in the city of love (yep you immediately thought of Paris – see how that works) and is having a fab time, but there is just one small hiccup that she is faced with – no oven!!! I know preposterous. Instead her little abode (mind you little is being generous) is only equipped with two hot plates – its been a kitchen challenge from the start, but her concoctions (maybe that’s only appropriate for beverages…hmmmm) have made me want to jump on a plane and fly on over to her and I would bet you some Euros and some fancy Parisian pastries that you would be all on board to chill with her in Paris even if it means sleeping with your head resting in the kitchen sink and your feet dangling out the window – really its like an Alice (Allyce) in Wonderland Apartment. Really you can check out her blog and see for yourself (:

Now I did give in and make these muffins, but they were super good that I will easily make them again (don’t worry my friend) – besides I still have a whole fruit basket to experiment with. Ruling on the plums – gooooood.

Ingredients: (12 muffins) adapted from this recipe
1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, melted
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
Pinch of ground nutmeg
2 large eggs, room temperature
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3/4 cup milk
3 ripe red plums (about 1 pound), pitted and cut into small chunks
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon + 2 tbsp sugar for the topping
Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a muffin tin with paper liners, or grease generously with butter or cooking spray.
Combine 2 tablespoons sugar and 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon in a small bowl; set aside.
In a large bowl, whisk together the flours, baking powder, salt, nutmeg, cinnamon and the sugars
In another large bowl, whisk together the eggs, vanilla, and milk. Whisk in the melted butter. Using a rubber spatula, fold the egg mixture into the flour mixture until just combined. Dividing evenly, fill each of the cups halfway with batter.
Distribute the plum pieces evenly among the cups, scattering them over the batter. Spoon the remaining batter on top, dividing evenly. Sprinkle tops with the reserved cinnamon-sugar mixture.
Bake, rotating the pan halfway through, until the muffins are puffed and golden brown and a cake tester inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean, 16 to 18 minutes. Transfer the pan to a wire rack and let stand 5 to 10 minutes. Remove the muffins from the pan and cool on the wire rack. Serve warm.
Did I overuse “good”? – Never.
I am thinking we may need to start a Monday Morning Muffins series…let that simmer a bit on your hot plate Allyce (;
Cheers to muffins for breakfast
n
2 thoughts on “To Plum Coffee Cake Muffins

  1. Pingback: Rehash of USA | insatiably

  2. Pingback: To Brown Sugar Pecan Coffee Cake | insatiably

Leave a Reply

