Suck up to your Parents – Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Pancakes

So my welcome back to the US gift was a flat tire – really? come on now my first day back driving and I get smacked with a big fat flat. Grrr. Thankfully I was outside my friend’s house so was able to get the assistance of the future bride to be and maid of honor which turned into the bride’s brother putting my spare on. What a day (that was Friday) which meant that for Saturday I would have to borrow my parent’s car and my dad graciously agreed to taking my car into the shop. For further sucking up abilities I agreed to making pancakes for my parents before heading out for wedding day activities – but these were not your out of the box type of pancakes – these were good home on the ranch, whole grain and hearty flapjacks. Really – my parents loved them – as did I, but maybe I liked them because in the cooking process I consumed quite the handful of chocolate chips…but really the pancakes themselves were grand and soooo fluffy and are gonna need to be repeated – and soon. My friend’s wedding was wonderful but a post on that will is to come – today (yesterday) is a haze (lazy) day of watching movies and laying low  (:

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
3/4 cups oats
4 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp sugar substitute
4 tbsp. ground flax (optional – but much better when included)
2 large eggs
2 cups + 2 tbsp milk
2 tsp vanilla
cooking spray
chocolate chips

Directions:
Mix dry ingredients together, add the wet ingredients and mix with a whisk.

Heat a griddle (low heat), wait for water droplets to skip across it and with a 1/4 cup measurement cup pour the batter onto the hot griddle – sprinkle with chocolate chips, wait for the bubbles to appear on the sides, flip the pancakes and wait a little longer for the other half to golden up.

Serve them up by topping with fresh sliced banana, pecan bits and pure maple syrup (none of that fake stuff allowed – Canadians know what’s up) and watch the pancakes disappear off your plate (:

Cheers

n

Leave a Reply

