The Importance of the Turkish Lira

When I run in Turkey I must first walk twenty minutes to a safe/somewhat normal running park. Every time I go for a run I remember to bring money with (1-2 liras) in case I need a bathroom or need to quench my thirst post my run. Well, of course the day when you really need that 1 lira is the day that your 1 lira.

Today my run was cut super short (too embarrassed to say how short) because I drank way too much coffee nescafe and I forgot my lira at home that would of bought my way into the public park restroom. NEVER before in my month in Turkey have I needed to resort to my 1 lira and NEVER before have I forgotten my 1 lira. That all changed today.

At least I got a good 40 min walk in – although the last 5 minutes the “I gotta go, I gotta go, I gotta go, gotta go, gotta go right now” was on repeat in my head. I was barely able to greet my host mom when I came home because I was so focused on not peeing my running tights.

Live and learn and never forget your lira at home – otherwise it might be a long ways home.

Cheers to needing a bathroom at the most inopportune times.

n

One thought on “The Importance of the Turkish Lira

Leave a Reply

