Blazing Trails

I was invited to go on a run today with another gal and was told it was a nice place so there was no way I was gonna turn down the chance to be introduced to another place to run in this great city where those places are few and far between. Getting to the run spot required a 10-15 min metro ride, but once we were out there and running it was all worth it. Now while I would love to run all my runs out there because I felt like I was out in the middle of nowhere and not in the city, for time that won’t be possible. Definitely will be a great place for weekend runs though (:

We ran for about an hour (split it up with going to see some horses about half way through and to drink water). It was super hot out there so we wanted to stay hydrated. The horses were a great little break.

He really wanted a close up (:

Running partner with the horses

Now an hour run isn’t bad but when it is in Ankara heat and up Ankara hills it starts feeling a little different from my cooler and flatter runs back home. I may be a tad tight and in need of a good stretch to say the least.

The afternoon was spent doing a bit of thesis work and Turkish homework. I also have been on the hunt for Flax – I found many gluten free items but no flax of yet – come on Turkey you are the hub of seeds and nuts and all things delicious – thinking I may have to find a bigger store…

siz = without so glutensiz is without gluten (: un is flour

I may just have to try these cookies some time saying that they cost less than a dollar

Got some good Sunday Skypes in with people back home (Happy Father’s Day Skype with the FPU (Father Parental Unit) and the family since I booked my ticket home to my friend’s wedding in about a month, three friends who were chilling out on a relaxing Sunday in Chicago and naturally the boy) and before I knew it the night was coming to a close.

I did have a funny conversation with my host mom because she while she was making “Diet Soup” for dinner tomorrow I was prepping overnight oats for breakfast – she was super intrigued – especially by chia seeds – and I didn’t know the word for thicken so I went to grab the dictionary and before I knew it she was trying the chia seeds and was like hmm yes good. haha such a great woman. She just makes you feel good about yourself – every morning she says bye my dear/life (in Turkish of course) and it makes me feel like I am in elementary school again (in a good way though). When she came home I was making the salad for dinner and she was super excited. I was informed by my running partner (who stayed at this homestay) that she would make banana bread and they absolutely loved her for it – so that is something I am thinking of making this week – who can resist banana bread – it is just sooo great (:

Cheers to all the dad’s near and far – enjoy your day

n

 

Leave a Reply

