A Sunday in Turkey

Sundays are days you should take for yourself – or so I think. That is the philosophy I lead my day with today.

When I woke up I decided to go for a run. Now I was told there is a good park to run at that is at the next metro stop. So I set off walking about 3km to this park. When I got there I just started to run through the winding paths. However, I managed to stumble right into a running track about a half mile in!!! I first saw two guys running and then noticed that they were on a track! I was over joyed. One because I wasn’t the only one out running and two it was a place I could run without getting stared at. Running outdoors isn’t big here and running as a female is even more jaw dropping. With all the bread they eat here and all the other delicious meals I’m being served I gotta run or else I will soon be an oompa loompa – not good.

It was hot out, but the shade helped to keep it cooler. Sadly I don’t think Ill be able to run in shorts here – at least in Ankara – so it’s just me and my running tights for the time being. Post my run I headed out on my 3km walk home. All in all an exercised filled morning that still has me grinning because finding that track was like finding gold.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Pictures of my new running spot (:

Expect more slideshows in future posts – makes my job a little easier

When I got home I met Selena who was suppose to be staying at the home stay for the rest of June but decided to move out to a private dorm for these last three weeks. Seems like a great girl – hoping to go for a run with her and learn some of her spots. She was over-thrilled in meeting me because I too run and like me she is in Turkey on scholarship. I’m the first person she has met since she has been here (5 months) that is in a similar situation to her.

For the rest of my Sunday I decided to go into the city center and find a nice cafe to enjoy a drink and read my book at. Extremely relaxing. I went to one of the streets that is just lined with Cafes and not just at street level but 6 and 7 stories up too! Crazy busy out today. I settled on a place called Bourbon Coffee and enjoyed myself a nice cold and tall choco-caramel – twas delish and made me thankful for running this morning.

They served it with a little treat and a little vase with flowers – I can quickly get used to this (:

The rest of the evening will be spent on thesis research and Turkish – gonna get my smart on.

Cheers from abroad

2 thoughts on “A Sunday in Turkey

  1. Women in shorts running is not so common there but at least you can wear running tights in Turkey! In rural Oman, I was asked to wear a long t-shirt/top or something down past my knees when wearing running tights.

Leave a Reply

