To Tofu & Veggie Udon Noodles

I got home from school on Monday and since I have been busy with unpacking, packing and donating to the extreme. Preparing to leave the country for 7 months has definitely put me into overdrive on cleaning out my wardrobe, getting everything in order and spending as much time with my family as possible.

Best news yet though that I must share is that I got my student visa for Turkey in the mail today. This means I can not only legally exit the US (because I got my passport back), but that I can legally enter Turkey! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT!

How do you celebrate good mail? Not sure, but what I did was prepare lunch for myself, sister and mums. They  were quite happy!

This dish was super easy and let me use up a few items that I had brought back from school with me. Combining all my school groceries with my parents stuff was quite a process in and of itself – more than half of the island in our kitchen was covered in stuff.

The overhaul of my room is starting to become contagious and before I know it, there will be an overhaul of the whole house going on.

Ingredients: (serves 4)
8 oz. udon noodles, boiled
1-2 Tbsp. olive oil
1 onion
1 head of broccoli
1/2 package of extra firm tofu
6 mini sweet peppers
handful of chopped carrots
1/2 bottle of stir fry sauce (I used Bangkok Padang Peanut Sauce)

Directions:
Cube the tofu and cover in the sauce to let it marinate.
Boil water for the udon noodles.
While the water is boiling/noodles, heat the olive oil in a larger sauce pan. Add the onion and saute until nice and golden.
Add the broccoli. Then add the tofu and sweet peppers. Last add the carrots. Mix it all well.
Drain the noodles and add those to the veggie mix. Stir well and let simmer for a few minutes.
Sprinkle with a bit of paprika, serve and enjoy

Notes: You can change up the sauce – whatever you have on hand, as well as the protein source – chicken and shrimp would work well too.

Cheers

n

One thought on “To Tofu & Veggie Udon Noodles

Leave a Reply

