To Black Bean Fiesta Salad

Refreshing and healthy salad with bean protein for those days when it is super hot and you don’t want to turn on any heat producing appliances. This would also be great as a chip dip (maybe omit the cucumber for that though and add some red onion). In fact my mom makes a black bean corn salsa that kind of inspired this salad for me.

This tasted great post my afternoon run today. It was super hot out there – 88 and humid! Not to mention after all the delicious food I ate this weekend I needed something to help with a mini detox. It was kind of a food tour kind of weekend. It started Thursday night with a friend coming into town – we checked out this great little (maybe 10 people can fit) mexican restaurant where I had a veggie burrito. Then Friday I drove back home to the Quad Cities with the boy and we went Cafe Fresh – a cute little cafe where you can get soups, salads, wraps, etc. We split a Diablo Flatbread and Fiesta Wrap – the former (my pick) definitely beat the wrap but both were good. Then for dinner we went with my family to a Vietnamese restaurant where we ordered 3 different appetizers (two rolls and potstickers) and 5 entrees (calcutta chicken, lam dong beef, charbroiled vermicelli, lover’s nest (shrimp dish), a noodle dish and something else that I just can’t remember. For dessert we had ice-cream back at home from Whitey’s – one of the gemstones of the QC. For breakfast on Saturday, dad made delicious pancakes with blueberries and chocolate chips – Oh Yeah – choc. chips is my pancakes always takes me back to my childhood and then for dinner we got Mexican carry out (it was Cinco de Mayo after all) and I ordered a pumpkin flower quesadilla – really good and it went down smoothly with some Coronas.

Sadly I do not have photos of all the nomilicious food, but you can take my word for it – or the melodious tunes that my stomach was singing all weekend long. To top it all off I got to see my niece of 9 days old too! Isn’t she just so precious?!?!

And got to show the boy around the BIG tourist spots of the QC – joking…really. But John Deere Tractors are cool and we stumbled across a Petting Zoo at the Farmer’s Market.

And a Deer showed up in my backyard…Nothing Runs Like a Deere…

That grand food tour also explains why I havent posted all weekend and proof for the much needed salad today (:

And on top of all of that I booked my plane ticket to San Francisco at the end of May – so excited for some Cali Sun, being a tourist in my own country and drinking and eating in Sonoma Wine Country with good company!

Hope everyone else had a fabulous weekend too and if not well you can still make it great by making this salad!

Ingredients:
1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 cup chopped tomatos
1/2 cup corn (frozen and thawed or fresh)
1/2 bell pepper (I used orange)
1/2 cup chopped cucumber
1/2 an avocado
1-2 tsp. minced garlic
2 tbsp. olive oil
2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp. red wine vinegar

Directions:

Mix all of the above together and serve – simple as that. Lasts well in the refrigerator – but doesn’t stand a great chance of not being quickly eaten up!

Cheers

n

2 thoughts on “To Black Bean Fiesta Salad

Leave a Reply

