To Tomato Bruschetta

Have you ever ordered an appetizer for your meal because it sounded better than anything on the menu? Well I am definitely guilty of that and thought heck what I want for dinner tonight is bruschetta. In my world appetizers can be meals. Not to mention this one is super easy to whip up and will having you humming sounds of joy the whole MEAL through.

Ingredients: (makes 6 overloaded bruschetta)

10 Cherry Tomatos (or equivalent with roma, vine, etc.) cubed really small
half a handful of basil chopped
tsp. ish of garlic – go to your liking
splash of olive oil
dash of salt and pepper – go to your liking
French loaf – cut into 1/4-1/2 inch slices – the thinner the better to get it nice and crisp
extra olive oil for brushing

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350
Bake the sliced bread for 3-4 minutes, pull from oven.
While the bread is baking mix all of the other ingredients.
Brush with olive oil and bake for another 4-5 minutes until nice and golden – a crunch is what you want.
Pull from oven and top with with tomato mixture.

Cheers to Appetizers for Meals

n

3 thoughts on “To Tomato Bruschetta

  1. I lived of bruschetta for awhile – it’s absolutely delicious. Have you considered sprinkling a few finely chopped cubes of hard cheese on this? Makes it even better 😀

    • I will have to remember this – although I’m highly sensitive to lactose so I’ve been trying to avoid dairy as my stomach likes to rebel against me when I do lack the will power to not say no (:

      • Oh dear! I’m also lactose intolerant so I can’t have half the tasty cheeses I’d like to 😦 I’m okay to eat goat and sheep cheeses though as they have only a small amount of lactose in them – same for mature cheddar. Everyone’s different though so don’t take my word as gospel 😛

Leave a Reply

