To Banana Caramel Decadence Cupcakes

I said I was in a baking mood so here is round 2 from today of cupcakes!

Anything with banana is #winninginmybook. I’ve probably mentioned it before – once or twice or it can be noted in my many recipes with bananas this or that, but for the sake of keeping it short and sweet my love for bananas can be summed up with the single world of endless.

There are days when I eat as many as three – probably happens more often then it should, but my reasoning is that at least I am obsessed with and crave something that is good for me. I doubt my potassium levels are ever low and if they are well then everyone’s are because I have yet to meet someone who eats as many bananas as I do…maybe you??? I said I was gonna keep it short, right? (;

These cupcakes are pretty simple to whip up and are definitely worth it – salivating just thinking of them. Yum.Yum.Yum.

Ingredients: Adapted from Susi’s Kocken und Backen Adventures (makes 9 cupcakes)

Cupcakes:
3/4 cups cake flour
3/8 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
3/8 tsp. cinnamon
1 banana, mashed (about 1 cup)
1/6 cup milk (I used soy)
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/8 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 large eggs, at room temperature
1/4 cup butterscotch chips

Caramel Buttercream:
6 tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/8 cup sugar
1 large egg whites
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/6 cup caramel

pecans for sprinkling and extra caramel for drizzling

Directions:

Cupcakes: 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners.

Whisk together cake flour, baking soda, baking powder, slat, and cinnamon.

In another bowl, whisk together mashed bananas, buttermilk, and vanilla.

With an electric mixer on medium-high speed, cream butter and brown sugar until pale and fluffy. Add eggs, one  at a time, beating until each is incorporated, scraping down sides of bowl as needed. Reduce speed to low. Add flour mixture in two batches, alternating with banana mixture, and beating until just combined after each. Stir in butterscotch chips.

Divide batter evenly among lined cups, filling each three-quarters full. Bake, rotating tins halfway through, until a cake tester inserted in centers comes out clean, about 20 minutes. Transfer tins to wire racks to cool completely before removing cupcakes.

Caramel Buttercream: 

With an electric mixer on medium-high speed, cream butter until pale and fluffy. In the heatproof bowl of a standing electric mixer, combine 1/4 cup sugar and the egg whites. Set bowl over a pan of simmering water; whisk constantly by hand until mixture is warm to the touch and sugar has dissolved (the mixture should feel completely smooth when rubbed between your fingertips).

Attach bowl to the mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. Starting on low and gradually increasing to medium-high speed, mix until stiff (but not dry) peaks form. Continue whisking until egg mixture is fluffy and glossy, and completely cool (test by touching the bottom of the bowl), about 5-10 minutes. Reduce speed to medium-low. Add beaten butter, a couple of tablespoons at a time, mixing well after each addition. Mix in vanilla.

Switch to the paddle attachment. With mixer on medium-low speed, very slowly pour in caramel; beat a couple of minutes. Scrape down sides of bowl, and continue to beat until caramel is fully incorporated.

Putting it all together: Frost cupcakes by using a small offset spatula to spread the buttercream or fill a pastry bag (fitted with the tip of your choice) with the cream and pipe on. Drizzle with additional caramel  and sprinkle with pecans. Refrigerate up to 3 days in airtight containers; bring to room temperature before serving.

These are quite decadent (as the name implies) and highly recommended. Best part of the evening was that I had unexpected guests at my apt (my roommate and I have mutual friends and they were recording a music video) so I spread the love with cupcakes – I just about tackled my friend Dan (my co-trip leader from my Memphis trip) in the process too when I looked up from frosting and he was standing in my hallway).

Cheers to having a banana-y one (all day and all night)

n

Leave a Reply

