To Strawberry Almond Pancakes

It was mom’s weekend at my uni. this weekend meaning that the campus was swarmed by mother’s all wanting to shop, eat and drink their hearts out – including my mums!

All in all it was a good two days spent with my mother complete with shopping, eating, drinking and driving (the latter two not at the same time – just to clarify). To be more specific, my mom taught me how to drive stick and let’s just say I haven’t laughed that hard in a long time and a good thing we practiced in a parking lot because the experience wasn’t short of a few bunny hops. There were no casualties, although a few geese were playing chicken with me.

To start off a good Sunday I made my mums and I these pancakes and they were pretty delightful and made the apartment smell good too!

They are super simple to make and you could probably change out the fruit if you wanted too.

Ingredients: (adapted from Crumb Blog)
Strawberry-Yogurt Pancakes:
1 cup flour (3/4 all-purpose, 1/4 whole wheat)
2 tbsp flax meal
2 tbsp sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
Pinch salt
2 eggs
1/2 cup plain yogurt (I used a yoplait lactose free and then just ate the extra – pre breakfast snack)
2/3 cup soy milk
2 tbsp melted butter (plus more for the griddle)
1/2 tsp each vanilla and almond extract
1/2 cup finely diced strawberries
Toppings: Chopped strawberries, slivered almonds and maple syrup

Directions:

In a large mixing bowl, sift together flour, sugar, flax, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
In a separate bowl, whisk together eggs, yogurt, milk, melted butter and extracts until combined. Pour into the bowl of dry ingredients, and stir with a whisk until the batter is smooth and lump-free.
Heat a large skillet or griddle over medium heat. Grease lightly with butter. When the butter starts to sizzle, drop in 1/4 cup portions of batter.
Dot the surface of the pancakes with chopped strawberries. Cook for about 2 minutes or until a few bubbles start to form on the top, then gently flip over and continue cooking until underside is golden brown, about 1-2 minutes longer. Transfer the finished pancakes to a baking tray in a warm oven. Repeat this process until the batter is finished, re-greasing the pan as needed.
To serve, stack two or three pancakes onto each plate. Garnish each stack with a spoonful of chopped strawberries a sprinkle of almonds and a drizzle of maple syrup.
Cheers to all the moms out there
n
One thought on “To Strawberry Almond Pancakes

  1. Sounds like a great weekend w/ mom! My mom also taught me (eons ago…) how to drive a stick – also, thankfully, in a BIG parking lot! I’m so glad I know, even though it was painful learning!

    I want to invite you to participate in a blogging event I’m hosting, called Virtual Vegan Potluck. You can get the details here:

    Join the Virtual Vegan Potluck, May 12!

    Hope you’ll join us!

Leave a Reply

