To Spinach Asparagus Frittata

On Sunday I felt like making a frittata post my run and I am glad I did. It was quite delicious and helped me use up some ingredients that were approaching the end of their shelf life. The best thing about a frittata is not throwing anything you want into it and it tasting delicious, even though that is great, but the best thing is the annunciation that you can put behind the word Frit tat-aaaaaa. I think I need to figure out how to insert audio so I can demonstrate – that last sentence would make a lot more sense.

Anyway this is what went into my frittata. Good news is that it heats back up pretty well too – important when you are usually cooking for yourself.

Ingredients:
1 tbsp. olive oil
½ – ¾ onion, diced
1-2 tsp. garlic
1 pkg. frozen spinach (thawed and drained)
8 asparagus spears (cubed)
3 roasted red peppers (in oil)
5 eggs
¼ cup cottage cheese
2 tbsp. plain soy milk (reg. milk works too)
Spices to your liking (pepper, salt, crushed red pepper, paprika, etc.)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 F.
Heat oil in a pan and add the onion, caramelize and add the garlic. Once those have finished add in the asparagus and spinach and heat for a little bit.
While that is heating, mix together the eggs, cottage cheese, milk, spices and the roasted red peppers.
Once the veggies are good pour the egg mixture into the pan (only do this if your skillet is over safe – as in no plastic – all metal). In my case we didn’t have an oven proof pan so I transferred my veggies to a cake round and put this over the flame and then poured the egg mixture over it, like I would have originally.
Let this firm up about half-way.
Transfer to the oven for 15-20 minutes until all of the egg has solidified and the top is starting to golden out.
Pull from the oven and let cool for a few minutes before trying to slice and serve.

Cheers

And here is a quick video from Morning Glory – great Frittata scene (:

n

One thought on “To Spinach Asparagus Frittata

Leave a Reply

