To Running for Charity & Memphis

This post serves two purposes:

1) To share with y’all my first ever attempt at race fundraising

2) And to let ya know why I really haven’t been blogging

I will be running in my third half-marathon at the end of April and wanted to add an extra dimension of commitment. I’ve never fundraised for a race before, let alone solo, but I have faith and perseverance and know that I will be able to make greatness happen – not to mention it is all for the kids!

St. Jude’s Children Hospital has teamed up with races around the nation for runners to be heroes for the kids. Even more fitting is that Danny Thomas who started the idea of a children’s hospital got its roots in Memphis, Tennessee – where I currently have been for the last 6 days!

If you are interested in checking out my fundraising progress here is the link to my personal page!

My time spent in Memphis has been fantastic. I’ve been volunteering in community gardens here (which are a phenomenon that the city has leached onto to help and combat poverty and turn around deterioration in neighborhoods). I have also had the chance to check out many tourist attractions like Graceland, The National Civil Rights Museum and of course the infamous Beale St.

In fact this is my first actual blogging since coming to Memphis since my Key Lime Energy Bites Post was actually pre-blogged because I had a hankering that I wouldn’t be on my computer much when in Memphis.

I will be sure to upload a photo gallery (working on it currently) for my time in Memphis – it truly does have great sights and of course sounds – blues and rock n’ roll!

Until then stay spring-y (:

Cheers

n

 

 

One thought on “To Running for Charity & Memphis

Leave a Reply

