To S’mores Brownies

Today was 80 degrees! 80 DEGREES! That is pretty much unheard of in mid-March in Illinois. It truly feels like I go to school with 40,000+ because there are people everywhere. Nothing brings people out of winter hibernation like warm weather and sunshine. Add that with the week before spring break and you have the perfect equation for a stir frenzy.

Yesterday I was tired – mentally and physically fatigued. Today, I felt like a new being and was inspired to bake, but not that inspired – I relied on my stashed box of Ghirardelli Brownie Mix – call me a brownie snob – so be it.

Brownies are the one thing that I still have no shame in making from a box (and Ghirardelli knows what’s up). Put a cool topping on them and well you have magic baking up in your oven.

I took some to my friend b since she has to teach two classes tomorrow and take a mid-term so I felt she needed a social visit and a pick me up.

So there I was walking to her apartment with containers of brownies and a half gallon of soy milk – I definitely got a few crazy looks – but you can’t eat a brownie without a glass of milk.

The brownies were so good that my friend said “I’d date you” for personally delivered baked goods.

So impress…with minimal effort

Ingredients:

Box of Brownie Mix

1 1/2 cups mini marshmallows

4 graham crackers, broken into small pieces

1/4 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat temperature according to the brownie mix.

Lightly grease a 9×9 pan and set aside.

Mix up the brownie mix according to the box and pour into your prepared pan.

Bake according to directions or until they pass the toothpick test.

Pull from oven and switch to broil.

Sprinkle the brownies with the marshmallows and then the graham crackers.

Put in the oven until the marshmallows start to puff up – for me it was about 3 and a half mins with me checking on them every 10-15 secs (I left them on the middle rack).

Pull from oven, sprinkle with the chocolate chips and let cool for a good half hour – the longer you let them cool the easier they will be to cut (and the more melty the chocolate will get).

The result sticky deliciousness that your friends will love you for.

Another thing that is great for impressing with minimal effort – instagram!

Cheers

n

3 thoughts on “To S’mores Brownies

Leave a Reply

