To Cranberry Energy Bites

These are pretty much Larabars in bite-size form. Last year I got hooked to Larabars, but with a college student’s budget doom quickly set in and I wasn’t going to be able to have one every time I craved one. Thus, googling of homemade Larabars ensued and almost a year later I still find enjoyment in mixing up the flavors.

I went to Aldi the other day (super college budget friendly) for general shopping and to see what good finds I would stumble upon and low and behold I found a great deal on dried cranberries so I swooped in and got some. My best find however were blackberries for 69 cents!!!! Waddup berry people – that’s a steal!!!! I’ll be poppin’ those little berries like pez for the next couple of days (:

Back to energy bites

Post my 8 mile run yesterday I was needing a quick source of energy and these did the trick! You can play with the flavors to please your tastebuds or depending on what you have on hand. As long as you have dates and nuts you are sure to make a great pseudo Larabar. Stay tuned for more flavors!

Ingredients: (12-15 bites)

1/4 cup dried cranberries

1/2 cup dates, pitted

1/4 cup cashews

1/4 cup almonds

2 tbsp. flax meal

1 tbsp. water

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

In a food processor, blend the cranberries and dates until they naturally form into a single mass. Set aside in a bowl.

Process the cashews and almonds until chopped close to fine – but now powdery – you want a bit of texture.

Add in the cranberry/date mixture, flax meal water and cinnamon. Pulse a few times until it all comes together.

Then form into 1 inch balls

Store in the fridge.

Cheers to raw energy

n

Leave a Reply

