To Crock Pot Chicken Enchilada Soup

Well I had chicken that was sitting in my fridge for long enough so thought I should make something that would warm me right up for these blustery cold days that have decided to move in on us in the mid-west. I blame all those people who have been complaining that we haven’t really had a winter yet. Dang all of you.

But I guess I won’t complain too much because I PR’ed my 10K time yesterday while on my 7 mile run complete with snow-like precipitation, winds that put a little water in my eyes and the wonderful smell of cow…

I cooked this up yesterday but didn’t get to enjoy it until today (the 4-6 hours in the crock pot meant it wasn’t ready till 9ish) – it was worth the wait. I shared it at a potluck/movie watching and the others thought it was good too!  And it really did warm me right up!

This will warm you from the inside out and is healthy too boot – saying as I adapted it from Skinny Taste (:

Ingredients:
2 tsp olive oil

1/2 cup onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

3 cups low sodium fat-free chicken broth

8 oz can tomato sauce

4.5 oz. can green chillies

15 oz can black beans, rinsed and drained

1/3 cup Grape Tomatoes diced tomatoes

2 cups frozen corn

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp dried oregano

2 8 oz skinless chicken breasts (16 oz total)

avocado, tortilla strips and cheese for topping

Directions:

Heat oil in a saucepan over medium-low heat.

Add onion and garlic and sauté until soft, 3-4 minutes.

Slowly add the chicken broth, tomato sauce and green chillies and bring to a boil. Pour into crock pot.

To the crockpot, add drained beans, diced tomatoes, corn, cumin, oregano and stir.

Add the chicken breasts; cover and cook on low heat for 4-6 hours.

Remove chicken and shred with two forks. Add chicken back into the soup, adjust salt and cumin to taste. Serve in bowls and top with cheese of choice, tortilla stripsand avocado.

Cheers

n

Leave a Reply

