To Whole Grain White Chocolate & Butterscotch Blondies

Here is a dessert without peanut butter or chocolate (yes it has white chocolate but not my typical dark, milk or semi-sweet). Usually I am all about the peanut butter or chocolate in my dessert, but these guys looked too good on Chocolate & Carrots not to make. So I thought I would venture down the road of blondies. My friend Allyse had some of us over a couple weeks ago for dinner and she made blondes and they were just so delicious that I wanted to eventually make some.

There were supper easy to mix up – I did it with one bowl (I am starting to follow that rule of mixing dry and wet ingredients separately before combining – its just a hassle to wash that extra dish and I have yet to have a recipe really screwed up because of it. I mean you have to observe that rule for some dishes – but not all – just pick and choose wisely.

So these totally hit the spot after my morning of working out. Onto a bit of research..gotta be a student sometimes.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 eggs

1 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1 cup canola oil

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup white chocolate chips

1/2 cup butterscotch chips

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

Set aside a 9″ x 9″ pan, sprayed

In a bowl, combine the flours and baking soda. Set aside.

In a larger bowl, stir together the eggs, brown sugar, sugar, canola oil, and vanilla extract until well combined.

Stir in the flour mixture until well combined. Will require some elbow grease

Stir in the chips (reserve an 1/8 of a cup of each white chocolate and butterscotch)

Pour the dough into the prepared pan, spreading evenly along the bottom of the pan.

Sprinkle the remaining 1/4 cup of butterscotch and white chocolate chips on top

Bake for 25 – 30 minutes or until lightly golden brown.

Allow to cool completely before cutting and serving. ( I showered once they came out so I wouldn’t be tempted to cut into them before they had plenty of time to cool – we all have our forms of discipline)

Cheers

n

4 thoughts on “To Whole Grain White Chocolate & Butterscotch Blondies

  1. Pingback: To Oven Roasted Balsamic Asparagus « insatiably

  2. Pingback: In praise of the bar « Kitchen Slattern

Leave a Reply

