To Carob Banana Chia Vegan Overnight Oats

Yahoo! I have officially made my first overnight oats! And posted two vegan recipes in a row! AND two oatmeal recipes! Dang – I’m on a roll (:

Maybe not the most appetizing looking but they really are delish – I promise.

Thanks to Oh She Glows for providing so many overnight oats recipes to finally convince me that I had to try some. There is quite a long list of flavor combinations for overnight oats and as I really liked them and they are healthy too, I will probably be sharing with you more of the recipes I try! Let me know if you know of other good sources for overnight oats (:

After my morning run these hit the spot (remember this is coming from a gal who is not a big oatmeal fan). Not to mention the morning preparation is nada…well open drawer grab spoon, open fridge grab oats, jam spoon in oats, jam spoon in mouth and repeat the latter two steps until you have an empty bowl – then wash. You will be all powered up for the day!

Ingredients: (1 serving)

1 cup Almond milk (or your choice)

1/3 cup regular oats

1 tbsp carob powder (I buy it at bulk Barn)

2 tbsp chia seeds

Tiny pinch of kosher salt

1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract

1-2 tbsp pecans

1 ripe banana, chopped

Maple syrup to drizzle, to taste (optional)

Directions:

Mix the dry ingredients (oats, carob powder, chia seeds, optional walnuts, salt) in a medium sized bowl with a whisk.

Now pour in the milk and pure vanilla extract, Whisk well until all clumps are gone. Finally, Stir in the chopped ripe banana.

Place in the fridge for 2 hours or overnight. You can cover it, or leave it under covered. When ready, give it a good stir and enjoy. Drizzle a bit of maple syrup on top if you wish! I also put a bit of cinnamon on top mmmhhhhmmm – back to eating it (:

Cheers

n

4 thoughts on “To Carob Banana Chia Vegan Overnight Oats

  1. I keep running across posts about chia seeds – guess I need to get me some! We eat overnight oats/grains every morning. Usually I top w/ cinnamon, toasted nuts and lots of banana slices (and soy milk) – but sometimes I add a fig or other dried fruit compote. Yum!

    • Chia seeds are fantastic! I started using them in my water on long runs as an energy booster. They work as great thickeners too. I find as many excuses to incorporate them into my meals.

  2. Pingback: To Triple Berry Banana Vegan Overnight Oats « insatiably

Leave a Reply

