To Nat(ural) Spinach Pecan Pesto

I was craving pesto but didn’t have basil or pine nuts so I decided to substitute basil with different green source and pine nuts with different nuts. My ending concoction – spinach and pecan pesto and delicious at that.

Super easy to make and it can be versatile when it comes to dishes (pizza, pasta, straight up with veggies, etc).

I really wanted a flatbread pizza but am not a big fan of red sauce on pizza so decided that pesto wouldn’t let me down…and it didn’t. Click here to check out my Chicken and Veggie Pesto Flatbread Pizza

Ingredients:

Few handfuls of spinach.
1 tsp minced garlic
Handful of pecans
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil, more if need be

Directions:

Add ingredients to a blender (I layered the ingredients so that it would blend up better). Add more evoo if it isn’t blending well. Refrigerate in an airtight container and use up within a week (it made between 1/3 and 1/2 cup) meaning lots of pesto in my upcoming meals. yum (:
note: I’ve seen spinach and walnut pestos but didn’t have walnuts so opted for the pecans.

One thought on “To Nat(ural) Spinach Pecan Pesto

Leave a Reply

