To Rainbow Cupcakes

My stomach is uber happy right now because it has rainbows bursting inside of it! Even though it is just a vanilla cupcake it tastes better because of all the bright and fun colors – nom!

Back down to earth I come…

As some of you may know, making a rainbow cake is on my 2012 Baking and Cooking Must Dos and well I would say with these cupcakes I am halfway there. This was the first rainbow anything I ever tried making so I think I am doing pretty good.

Never really had anything to make them for, but yesterday I had a group meeting and Ive been incorporating rainbows into the emails (they are very colorful) so thought I would bring a rainbow treat for the first meeting – these SOOOO classify for that distinction.

Probably the most photos I have ever taken (and then posted) while preparing something. So I hope you enjoy them (:

Also as I was going about making them I thought of tips that I would use the next time I adventure into the world of color to make the task at hand just a tad bit easier and less time-consuming.

Another note – the batter makes about 24 cupcakes (I had big cupcakes) but I only made 12 rainbow cupcakes – the others I left traditional (there was about 6 cups of batter total – I used 3 cups for the rainbow cupcakes)

Vanilla Cupcakes (24 big – 30 small) (Adventures Made From Scratch)

Ingredients:
1 3/4 cup (280g) cake flour
1 1/2 cup (200g) plain flour
1 3/4 cup (440g) sugar
1 1/2 Tbsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1 cup (8oz) butter, room temparture, cut into 1 in. cubes.
4 large eggs
1 cup whole milk (I used skim)
3-4 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:
Preheat oven to 325*F. Line cupcake pans with paper liners (I used white so that the rainbow stripes would who through); set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, combine flours, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Mix on low speed until combined. Add butter in small pieces until just coated with flour.

Add eggs one at a time.

In a large measuring jug, whisk together milk and vanilla. With mixer on medium speed, add wet ingredients in 3 parts, scraping down the sides of the bowl before each addition. Beat until ingredients are incorporated but do not overbeat.

Take 6 bowls and add 1/2 cup of batter to each (total of 3 cups). Add food dye to your liking and mix well.

Starting with Red or Purple work your way through the rainbow (ROYGBIV or VIBGYOR) layering the colors using 2tsp for each color.

First Red

Then Orange

In third comes Yellow

Followed by Green

Getting close with Blue

Last but not least…Purple

My tip: next time I think I am going to try putting the batter in bags and piping it into the cupcake liners because smoothing it out with a spoon got tedious and I didn’t have that much time to spend making them perfect. Piping a bag you could automatically cover the whole surface area the first time how you want (have a small hole so that the layers still stay thin)

Your cupcakes should be about 2/3 full.

Bake, rotating halfway through, until a cake tester inserted in the centre comes out clean, 17-20min.

Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely before frosting.

Vanilla Frosting (Our Best Bites)

3 T Flour
1/2 C milk (whole milk is best, but I use non-fat when it’s all I have and it’s actually fine)
1/2 C real butter (I prefer salted, but you can use also unsalted and add salt to taste)
1/2 C sugar (that’s granulated sugar, not powdered sugar)
1 t vanilla extract, or other flavor if you wish.

Whisk together the flour and the milk. Heat in a small sauce pan on medium heat.
Whisk continuously until it starts to thicken. Let it cook, while stirring with a rubber spatula, until you can start to see the bottom of the pan.   Continue to cook until mixture has the consistency of pudding.

Put  mixture in the fridge and let it cool completely, it’s fine if it stays in there long enough to get chilly, you just don’t want it warm at all. As it’s cooling, feel free to stir it occasionally to speed up the process and keep it from forming a crust on top.

In an electric stand mixer, beat the butter and the sugar for a minute or two until well combined and fluffy. You’ll want to use the whisk attachment on a stand mixer if you have one, instead of the flat paddle. Then while beating, add in the thickened milk mixture and the vanilla. Beat to combine and then scrape down the sides. Mixture will separate and look messy, keep beating!  Continue beating until mixture comes together and is light and fluffy, about 7-8 minutes, but time varies.  Take a sample of frosting between your fingers; frosting is done when light and fluffy and sugar granules are dissolved.

Voila

You have turned into a Leprechaun and can deliver the rainbow to others!

My friend texted me her cupcake as she was enjoying it (:

2 thoughts on “To Rainbow Cupcakes

  1. Love this! They are like mini rainbow cake. Will definitely make this as I still have food coloring left when I made a rainbow cake a few weeks ago. 🙂

  2. Pingback: 2012 Baking and Cooking Must-Dos « insatiably

Leave a Reply

