To “Island Soyaki” Chicken Skewers

This past week was way busier than usual for me, but I knew that I wanted to still have something delicious to eat for dinner even if I didn’t have time to make it so Sunday I prepared chicken skewers. They were ridiculously good and lasted me all through the week – so served their purpose.

I could have just marinated the chicken and grilled it, but wanted to have fun so I made skewers. Besides I have been in summer withdrawals with the cold so thought this could be my escape into Island time.

Ingredients:

Marinade of Choice (Trader Joe’s Island Soyaki)

2 chicken breasts, cubed

2 colorful peppers, cut into chunks (Yellow & Orange)

1 pineapple, cubed

Skewers

Directions:

Marinade chicken for 30 min. to an hour – the longer you marinade the more flavor the chicken will have. Using a grill or a George Foreman (remember its 30 degrees out and I am in college – grills aren’t the easiest to come by), ¬†grill your chicken just until it is cooked. Take off grill, put chicken, pineapple and peppers onto the skewers (alternating in your order of preference) and then place back on the grill. This way your peppers and your pineapple get a bit of the grill effect too and your chicken finishes getting cooked.

It’s as easy as that and you will be left with meals to last you the week. It is great on top of broccoli and green beans (I did this many times), in a whole wheat wrap, or if you have time to cook brown rice I am guessing that would be delicious too.

Cheers

n

Leave a Reply

