To Black Bean Brownies

Black Bean Brownies have taken health nuts by storm and I finally jumped on that band wagon. My first experience, good but I know what to do next time to make them taste much better (aka more moist).

1. Use the 8×8 pan – my roommate has this really cool brownie pan so it makes even pieces, but the pan was bigger than suggested – probably leading to thinner brownies

2. Really RIPE Bananas

3. Don’t process the oats in the food processor – stir in!

Ok with all those warnings here goes…

This recipe came out of the Happy Herbivore Book but here is the website where the recipe is also listed.

Ingredients:

15 ounces black beans, drained and rinsed

2 whole bananas (as ripe as you can get – I don’t think mine were ripe enough – were talking more brown than yellow banners)

1/3 cup agave nectar

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa

1 tbsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/4 cup instant oats (take not these DON’T go into the food processor with the rest of the ingredients – I accidentally did this and I think it is why I ended up with less moist brownies)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease an 8×8″ pan and set aside. Combine all ingredients, except oats, in a food processor or blender and blend until smooth, scrapping sides as needed. Stir in the oats and pour batter into the pan. Bake approximately 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool before slicing.

(I only baked mine for 25 minutes, so another reason I think the oats soaked up all my moisture).

Cheers to healthy desserts

n

 

Leave a Reply

