To ‘Peppy’ Carob Green Monster

So maybe I cheated in putting green monster movement on my bucket list, but it really is something I’ve been wanting to make and checking one more thing of a to do list made me feel great, or maybe the green monster is just that good that it has me swooning.

Oh She Glows with Angela Liddon is the gal who got all of us other gals (and gents) on board green monsters aka smoothies made with spinach. For me, I like my smoothies the old traditional way – with fruit, not the “other” produce. Well instead of joshin others on their sworn by spinach smoothies I thought I would jump on board the movement. 

I had everything I needed so after my run this afternoon I was set on making my first green monster for a late lunch. After blending up my spinach, soy and banana I went to the freezer to get my ice and all I found were empty trays – yikes. My friend B-Laud (Brittany) lives about 1/4 mile away so I quickly texted her “Are you him? And if so do you have ice?” little would I know that the first thought to cross her mind is that I hurt myself near her apartment (very plausible). We’ve known each other going on 8 years and she knows all my injury prone stories so I probably shouldn’t send a text like that next time. A good laugh now for the day.

Well B-Laud was my ice savior and provided me with a tray so I was seen running on one of the busiest roads on my campus with a tray of ice, hmmm I wonder what people’s thoughts were.

Getting home I blended up my ice and the rest of my ingredients and am now enjoying my first green monster – YUM.

Don’t wait as long as I did to try one, they are grand – and full of protein and iron, so go and get your Popeye on.

Ingredients: (adapted from Oh She Glows (OSG) ‘Peppy’ Carob Green Monster)

3 cups spinach

1 banana (small)

8 cubes ice (I wanted mine really cold)

1 cup plain soy milk

2 Tbsp. Carob Powder

1/2 Tsp. mint extract (not imitation)

1 Tbsp. Chia Seeds

Directions:

Blend it all together – very simple. I recommend blending the spinach, banana and milk adding the ice and then topping off with the carob powder, mint extract and chia seeds.

Note – the smoothie will be a dark forest green due to the spinach mixing with the carob powder.

Cheers

n

2 thoughts on “To ‘Peppy’ Carob Green Monster

  1. Pingback: 2012 Baking and Cooking Must-Dos « insatiably

  2. Pingback: To Blueberry-Banana Green Monster « insatiably

Leave a Reply

