To Homemade Green Tea (Matcha) Ice Cream

The dessert for Thursday night’s dinner to accompany the Thai Curry Chicken Pineapple Fried Rice and Edamame with Shitake. Yes I am aware that Matcha powder is a Japanese ingredient, but I wanted to try out both of these dishes and knew that my friends would enjoy it even if they are two different Asian cuisines. It worked really well as a palette cleanser and my friends wanted more ice cream even after we indulged – definitely a keeper.

I found the recipe on Just One Cookbook and it was extremely simple. I will be going back to this blog for Japanese Cuisine, thought I would start out easy and move up in levels of difficulty.

You can find Matcha (Maccha) powder at most Asian Grocery Stores. Ask if you are not sure – but it should be over by the other tea products.

Ingredients:

2 cups half-and half (one part milk, one part cream)

1/2 cup sugar

3 tbsp100% Green Tea Matcha Powder

Pinch of Salt

Directions:

Freeze ice cream bowl for at least 15 hours (or the recommended time according to your manufa

  1. In a medium sauce pan, whisk together the half and half, green tea powder, sugar, and salt. Heat the mixture until it comes to a full boil. Keep whisking until mixture starts to foam, then remove from heat.
4 thoughts on “To Homemade Green Tea (Matcha) Ice Cream

  1. Hello nattilisms! Thank you for trying out my recipe and the kind mention. 🙂 I’m happy to hear you and your friend enjoy this matcha ice cream. Isn’t it easy and delicious? I shared your post on my fan page. I hope it was okay with you. Have a great Sunday!

    • It was delicious and extremely easy – definitely a recipe I will go back to. Thanks for sharing on your fan page. I look forward to trying out more of your recipes, making sure to give you the credit you deserve (:

    • I found it at an Asian speciality grocer. Hopefully you have one near you because making it yourself is so much better than store bought and this recipe was super easy (:

Leave a Reply

