To Happy Herbivore Guacamole

I kept on hearing about guacamole made with peas and everyone I knew who had tried it said they really liked it. I was really hesitant to make it since I just love traditional guacamole, but after coming across the recipe in my Happy Herbivore Vegan Cookbook, I thought that now is a good time to try it. The main benefit of substituting peas for avocado is its more low-fat. I had half an avocado left and needed to use it up so I had to tweak the recipe just a bit, but it came out wonderfully and I definitely recommend it. So now I guess I can be classified as one of the “ravers” of pea guacamole.

Ingredients:

2 cups frozen peas, thawed out

1/2 avocado (if you want an even lower-fat version just use 2-4tbsp. avocado, but you may have to increase your lime juice)

Juice of 1 lime (a little more than 1/8 cup)

1 tsp. minced garlic

1 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. paprika

1/4 of a sweet onion

dash of salt to taste

Directions:

Put all of the ingredients in a food processor and blend until a smooth consistency – scraping the sides as needed.

Enjoy as a sandwich spread, with tortillas, or kasha crackers like I did since this was the only thing I had on hand that seemed appropriate to eat the guac with.

Cheers

n

Leave a Reply

