To Poppy Chow

Have you ever come across a recipe and have been so tempted that you barely last 24 hours before you try it? I’m not talking about you are planning on making something so you search for recipes and then make it, but rather the spur of the moment you don’t need to try out the recipe for anything other than it is driving you crazy to try it.

Well yesterday my friend posted about poppy chow and you are probably thinking, you mean pUppy chow but I don’t, I mean pOppy chow as in substituting pOpcorn for chex cereal – amazing concept too bad I wasn’t the originator. Not really sure whose brilliant idea this was, but my friend found it on Tasty Kitchen and I am sure glad she did.

My friend (Laina by the way) also informed me that it was national peanut butter day – how a peanut butter lover like me didn’t know this until 10pm at night is unfathomable, but at least I can spend the last two hours of this great national day with some poppy chow.

While I did get the recipe from Tasty Kitchen – I did not make a full batch – not that I didn’t have confidence that I wouldn’t absolutely love it, but rather 9 cups of chocolatey-peanut buttery goodness is just too tempting and instead made a third of the batch (well even that was a little off) exact measurements I used are below

Ingredients:

4 cups of popcorn – a mini size snack bag of plain popcorn, or if you are cool and have a popcorn popper use that

1/3 cup ghiradelli bittersweet chips (go big or go home – premium chocolate all the way)

1/8 cup natural peanut butter kind (make this a generous 1/8 – give the peanut butter some lovin’ after all it is national peanut butter day)

1 tbsp. butter

1/3 tsp. vanilla extract

1/3-1/2 cup powdered sugar

Directions:

Pop your popcorn and let cool in a medium size mixing bowl. While cooling mix the chocolate chips, peanut butter, butter, and vanilla extract in a microwave container and microwave 30 secs. Take out and stir up, then microwave another 20 secs. It should be nice and creamy. Pour over your popcorn in the bowl and stir to coat all the popcorn.

Then mix in the powdered sugar – clumps should form just like they do with puppy chow. Spread out on wax paper too cool. Try not to eat all in one sitting! I am resisting it right now so that I can savor it again tomorrow!

Also, I am glad that there is such a thing as national peanut butter day, but I am pretty sure if one ingredient could be the national ingredient of the year it would be peanut butter.

Cheers

n

3 thoughts on “To Poppy Chow

  1. Pingback: Drizzled Dark Chocolate & Butterscotch Popcorn Crunch « insatiably

  2. Pingback: To Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies | insatiably

  3. Pingback: To Caramel Corn | insatiably

Leave a Reply

