To Euro Remixed Shortcut Homemade Tagalong Girl Scout Cookies

A couple posts ago I shared with you my shortcut recipe to homemade Girl Scout Tagalongs. Well what is better than an All-American known cookie remixed with a European product? Nothing, or few things, but the point is that these cookies are great and worth that extra ingredient in your cupboard if you don’t already have (we won’t even start discussing how preposterous that would be. The special ingredient you are probably wondering by now – Nutella – ahhh yes the silky smooth chocolate hazelnut spread – so delicious that I have to share a story about how myself and others have basked in its decadence.

While making tagalongs a few days ago, I thought that Nutella would probably be good in these, but with it my first time making them and having chocolate on my fingers already didn’t want to go get it out of the cupboard and so I only made “traditional” tagalongs. Well later when telling my friend Jess about my cookies she said that her boss made them too, but had used Nutella for half of them. This is no coincidence I thought and knew that I would have to make them with Nutella.

A little side story on Nutella and why Jess thought it necessary to share that part with me:

Spring of my junior year of college I studied abroad in Verona, Italy – one of the best decisions ever and worth all the pounds of pasta that I had to run off once I got home. Well myself and some of the other girls on my program would have Nutella parties to honor this genius invention which meant that everyone would bring a different thing that they thought went well with Nutella – options were endless – proving that Nutella is sort of the Peanut Butter of Europe – did I mention that we were all in peanut butter withdrawals also? Yeah not a normal thing in Italy that most of us had it shipped to us or one even attempted to make her own from peanuts (without a food processor) – needless to say she eventually got something that resembled peanut butter enough to fulfill her longing.

So with that said – I love Nutella and so does my friend Jess (a participant in the Nutella Parties) and with me going to visit her today to celebrate the New Year in Chicago, I thought I should bring her some since she didn’t get to try the ones her boss made.

For the recipe see my Shortcut Homemade Tagalong Girl Scout Cookies
 post and just replace the peanut butter with Nutella.

I also made some with peanut butter – these ones I topped with coarse salt flakes

while the ones with the surprise of Nutella in the middle I topped with red sprinkles.

So with that said – I love Nutellaand so does my friend Jess (a participant in the Nutella Parties) and with me going to visit her today to celebrate the New Year in Chicago, I thought I should bring her some since she didn’t get to try the ones her boss made – I pretty sure she will be as excited about these as I was (of course I had to try the Nutella ones and they were soooo delicious – quite the contender to the peanut butter).

So with this happy note of Nutella I leave you in 2011! This will be my last post before the New Year, but hope you ring in the New Year with someone special!

Cheers and See you in 2012!

One thought on “To Euro Remixed Shortcut Homemade Tagalong Girl Scout Cookies

  1. Pingback: WheresMyCookies? | insatiably

Leave a Reply

