To Homemade Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream

I am already obsessed with my ice-cream maker and don’t care that it is the middle of winter because anytime is right for ice-cream. Ice cream is the reason for gluttony (or at least me but I know I’m not alone). It is my comfort food that just makes me feel better no matter how junky a day I’m having. One of my favorite movie lines is “I’m gonna go get chipped face” from Miss Congeniality when Sandra Bullock decides to eat the whole pint of chocolate chip ice cream at the bar. My kinda gal. And who said that a date night with Ben and Jerry wasn’t a real thing? Anywho, after this and my pumpkin ice-cream I’m not sure I’ll ever need Ben and Jerry again – well maybe for new flavor ideas ohhhh definitely should take a stab at my favorite flavor of Bonnaroo Buzz – yum.

Now onto the recipe that you are reading this for (as adapted from Food For Poems)

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups Heavy Cream + 2 tbsp. (used with melted chocolate)
1/2 cup 1% milk
1-2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
1/4 cup sugar
2 egg yolks
1 cup frozen raspberries thawed
3.5 oz. chocolate (I used a mixture of Ghirardelli and mini choc chips – making use of what was around the house)

Directions:
Whisk together egg yolks and ¼ cup sugar until light and soft . In a double boiler, heat the large portion of half and half and vanilla extract until very warm, stirring constantly. Add a cup or so of warmed half and half to the egg yolk mixture, whisking constantly, then pour in a steady stream into the remainder on the stove, whisking that constantly. It sounds more complicated than it is. Heat until 170 degrees (I use a candy thermometer – this won’t really thicken, even at that temperature, because 2 yolks isn’t an very high number for ice cream).

Cool the half and half mixture in the refrigerator. Add to ice cream maker according to directions.

In a small bowl, microwave together the chocolate and 2 tbsp. heavy cream  in 30-second intervals until the chocolate is melted, stirring between intervals.
Toward the end of the churning time, add the raspberries to the mixer. Once you are done churning it, add the chocolate. The original recipe said that she got chunks instead of a swirl but mine turned more into chocolate raspberry flavored ice cream with a few chunks of raspberry and chocolate – definitely looked completely different from the original photo but it was delicious so I am not complaining.

Freeze for 2-3 hours or until solid. Makes about 3 ½ cups.

Store ice cream is looking less appealing with every batch of ice cream I make.

Cheers

n

Leave a Reply

