To Southern Pecan Pie

One of my contributions to Thanksgiving this year was Pecan Pie. Someone else was bringing pumpkin pie and my sister isn’t a big fan so she requested I make a different type of pie. Now I have never made pecan pie before (and to be frank I haven’t made that many pies before – can count the number of times on one hand). So I searched food gawker and came acrossYoung Married Chic’s blog and decided that her recipe looked and sounded easy enough and it pretty much was – saying that we had a lone piece of pie left in the dish when we left the Thanksgiving gathering

Ingredients: 

3 Eggs

1 Cup Brown Sugar (I used light brown)

1 Tbsp. all purpose flour

1 Cup Karo Light Corn Syrup

2 Tbsp. Butter melted

1 Tsp. Vanilla Extract

1 ½ Cups Pecans

Your favorite uncooked pie crust (I use Pilsbury in the red box)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Mold your pie crust to your pie dish – follow the directions on the package

In a medium bowl, gently beat eggs. Stir in the sugar and flour followed by the syrup, melted butter and vanilla.

Fold in the pecans

Pour the mixture into your pie shell and bake for about an hour. A knife inserted in center of filling should come out fairly clean.

Tips: If your crust looks to be browning quickly, cover the crust with foil after15-20 minutes of baking. Brushing the crust with butter will help with the crust cracking – I forgot to do this so my crust had a crack – but it wasn’t a big deal – imperfections make a pie perfect, right?

Let cool and then serve.

I’ve also read that you can freeze pecan pie well, so you could always double the recipe and have a pie on reserve for later – with the holidays you never know when you may need it!

Leave a Reply

