To Cinnamon Apple Oatmeal Cookies

These cookies were a day of last minute type of result. In January I am going to California with 13 other Illinois students to volunteer at AIDS Project Los Angeles (APLA) so right now my group and I get together once a week to discuss our issue of AIDS, fundraise and get to know each other. Last night we had a meeting and I decided that I wanted to make cookies to share. Sometimes I like to play it safe when baking for a new crowd with either using a classic cookie or using a never fail recipe. The problem was both of the two cookies I thought of (Chocolate Crinkles) and the classic Peanut Butter cookie required refrigeration which I didn’t think I had enough time for. So when my housemate mentioned Cinnamon Apple Oatmeal Cookies it was an automatic sell – my house has plenty of apples, cinnamon and oats – solid. However, once I got home I only had time to prep the dough and not actually bake the cookies because I was meeting some girls on my program for $1 sushi – so delicious by the way! So I ended uprefrigerating my dough for about two hours (pretty much would have been fine with one of my other recipes) out of necessity of my busy schedule. Not sure if this played with the chemistry of the cookie dough, but either way they were delicious. Soft and chewy and little fresh bits of apple in them just made them that much better. Next time I will make a few alternatives to “health them up a bit” and may even try a vegan version of them. Pretty much what I am saying is that these cookies were killer and I definitely recommend them. A perfect fall treat – ohhh how delicious they would be with some apple cider – cold or warm – too many choices in life.

With my cookie scooper it yielded 28-30 cookies

Ingredients:
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter , softened (will try 6 tbsp. butter and 2 tbsp. apple sauce next time)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour (I used 1/2 cup all purpose and 1/2 cup whole wheat)
1 1/4 cup oats, old fashioned or quick cooking
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
scant 1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon (organic cinnamon – best of the best – yum yum yum)
generous pinch nutmeg (use fresh grated if you have it)
1 medium apple, peeled, diced small (used a honeycrisp apple – fantastic)
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

Directions:
Place a rack in the center and upper third of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.
Peel and dice the apple and toss with lemon juice.  Set aside.
Beat the sugar and butter in the bowl of a stand mixer fit with a paddle attachment.  Beat until creamy, about 3 to 4 minutes.  Add egg one,  beating for 1 minute..  Add the vanilla extract and beat until blended.
Whisk together the oats, flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices and salt.  Add to the butter and egg mixture slowly beating on low speed until just incorporated.  Stir in the walnuts andapple chunks last.
Bake at 350 degrees F for 10 to 13 minutes or until they’ve reached your desired doneness.  I like mine a little underdone and cook them for 10 minutes.  Allow to cool on the cookie sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.  Or you could just eat them warm.  That’s probably the best idea.

Cheers

n

Leave a Reply

