To Classic Cartwright Chocolate Chip Cookies

If you were on Family Feud and the poll was favorite cookies – hands down chocolate chip cookies would be the #1 answer. Now, choc. chip cookies are not my favorite (oatmeal raisin are), but I can always enjoy a good choc. chip cookie and that is exactly what these guys are – killer good. My sister use to make them all the time if she made cookies and the only reason I remember that is because they have the odd ingredient of pudding in them – don’t judge until you try. The recipe is in one of the military cook-books that my mom owns labeled as “Chocolate Chip Pudding Cookies” but I always know these as the Cartwright Classic Chocolate Chip Cookie – how’s that for a mouthful?

Anywho – I made them this past Thursday night and my roommates got to try them after dinner for dessert – or nachspiese in German as it has come to be known in the co-op by a few of us. The roommates loved them so I knew I had done the recipe justice (it was my first time using this recipe). I quickly packed the rest of the batch away and put for safe keeping until Saturday when I took them to the football tailgate – where the tailgaters (my friends) totally approved of them.

Classic Success

Ingredients:
2 ¼ C. Unsifted flour (I used 5/4 wheat and 1 cup white flour)
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 C. margarine, softened (I used Full Circle Organic Butter)
¼ C. granulated sugar
¾ C. brown sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
1 sm. pkg. instant pudding (vanilla)
2 eggs
1 pkg. chocolate chips (next time I am going to try dark chocolate chips – this time I used milk)
1 C. chopped nuts (optional – I skipped on the nuts – wanted to go for the true Choc. Chip Cookie)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 F
Mix flour with baking soda and baking powder and set aside.
Combine margarine, sugars, vanilla and pudding mix in a large mixing bowl. Beat until smooth and creamy. Beat in eggs.
Gradually add flour mixture.
Stir in chips and nuts. (Batter will be stiff).
Drop by rounded teaspoonful (measuring) about 2 inches apart on ungreased baking sheets.
Bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes. Makes about 7 dozen.

Enjoy (:

Cheers
n

2 thoughts on “To Classic Cartwright Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: To Rainbow Mini M&M Cookies « insatiably

  2. Pingback: The Nanny Diaries: Istanbul | insatiably

Leave a Reply

