To Crustless Spinach Quiche

So I have really gotten into the brunch cooking shift at my co-op. It makes me feel accomplished on Sunday mornings – gets me out of bed and moving to say the least. This week I debated for awhile what I was gonna make – even consulted my friend Jess who was coming in town. I decided on whole grain waffles (sadly no picture but Jess rocked that recipe – they were delicious – almond butter and apple butter on them made them quite irresistibly delicious) and a crustless spinach quiche. I have never made or help with the making of a quiche before but I sure do like them. So when I came across this recipe with raving reviews I thought it can’t be that hard I will just have to give it a try. It was a success – everyone who at it this morning loved it. Couldn’t have been happier with how it turned out (should say they turned out since I had to make two – I have 9 roommates). I will have to make this for my parents when I am home for Thanksgiving – and naturally will incorporate my variations which I have listed below.

Ingredients:
1 10oz. package frozen chopped spinach, thawed
1 bunch of green onions, finely chopped (white part only)
4 eggs, beaten
1 16oz. container cottage cheese (light)
2 cups shredded Cheddar Cheese
1/4 cup crushed croutons
My alterations this time around:
1tsp. black pepper
1tsp. cayenne pepper
homemade croutons from french bread – toasted in oven for about 10min

alterations for next time:

all the above alterations + lessening the shredded cheese, using a different cheese or 1/2 cheddar and 1/2 gruyere or muenster

add mushrooms

Directions:
Preheat over to 325 degrees F. Lightly grease a 9 inch pie or quiche pan
Place spinach in a saucepan. Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally until soft. Drain off any remaining liquid. Stir in green onions, eggs, cottage cheese and cheddar cheese (also added my spices here and would add the mushrooms here too). Pour mixture into the prepared pan.
Bake uncovered for 45 minutes. Remove from oven and sprinkle with crushed croutons. Return to over and bake for an additional 15 minutes.
Serve with other delicious brunch foods and your friends and family will thank you!

Cheers

n

Leave a Reply

