To White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies (Island Cookies)

So it came to my realization when my friend’s fiancé said that one of his favorite cookies was white chocolate macadamia nut that I had never made them before – what’s up with that?? So when I went to the store to get ingredients for something else that I was making and saw the macadamia nuts in the aisle I decided to pick some up so that the next time I made cookies I would have the proper ingredients.

Recipe: Adapted from Suzy Bakes

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
1/3 cup sugar
1 large egg
2 1/2 tablespoons heavy cream (didn’t have heavy cream so just used milk)
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1  cup macadamia nuts
1 12-ounce bag white chocolate chips

Directions:
Baking Temperature: 350 degrees
Baking Time: 10-12 minutes (for my over it was closer to the 10 minute range – 12 min they got a little too dark and lost their chewiness)
In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.
In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugars until smooth, about 2 minutes.
Add the egg, cream, and vanilla, and beat well.
Add the dry ingredients and mix thoroughly.
Stir in the macadamia nuts and white chocolate chips.
Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto un-greased cookie sheets, leaving several inches between for expansion. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until lightly golden. Cool the cookies on the sheets for 5 minutes, and then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

Now they turned out delicious – but I feel that they weren’t 100% what I would’ve liked them to be. They were quite thin – and she said that she liked extra chips in hers – but these seemed almost too overloaded with white choc. chips and not enough macadamia nuts. So for the next time that I make these cookies I plan on adding baking powder – may give a little rise to the dough or even trying instant pudding (my sister always uses pudding in her chocolate chip cookies which makes them soft and plump). Nothing wrong with thin cookies – but these were really thin – thankfully they tasted great.

Turns out that white chocolate is one of my housemates favorite types of chocolate so he was very ecstatic when he was able to have fresh, hot out of the over cookies. The fiancé approved of the cookies (we discussed the thin-ness of them) and others that were at the tailgate that I took them to liked them as well!

Another cookie success story.

Leave a Reply

