To Banana Bread Muffins

I absolutely love bananas – people say I am like a monkey since I eat at least one a day – weather in my cereal, in a smoothie, straight up, in banana bread – I mean there are just so many great ways to use bananas. When I moved into Greenhouse there were bunches – and yes I mean bunches of bananas in the freezer. What better way to make freezer room than to bake up the bananas in banana bread? Seemed like a great idea to me. So in addition to my French Toast Bake experience I also whipped up some banana bread – extremely easy to prep – just takes a while in the over to bake a quick bread loaf – the solution – making banana bread muffins – reduces the cooking by like a 1/3 – that’s my kind of results – and if you haven’t realized yet I do have a slight obsession with everything mini – cupcake tins are my companion!

Anywho – I made the banana bread and not until someone asked me what the time was on the microwave did I realize that I forgot to add the softened butter to the recipe – whoops. They still tasted great – they just stuck a bit to the wrappers – so I am assuming if you didn’t use wrappers you would be ok as long as sprayed your tins.

So here it is, the recipe that is…

Ingredients:
Wet Ingredients:
1/2 stick (4-5 tablespoons) butter, softened
2 eggs
2 or 3 very ripe bananas
1 cup vanilla or plain yogurt
2/3 cup sugar
Use a potato masher, fork, or spoon to squish the banana and mix the ingredients together. It is alright for there to be small (1 centimeter) chunks of banana in the batter, but you want most of the banana to be reduced to mush.
Dry Ingredients:
1 1/2 cup all-purpose unbleached flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (optional)

Directions:
Combine the wet and dry ingredients and mix until the ingredients are blended together.
Stir in add-ins here. I did chocolate chips – chocolate has a tendency to make everything better. Other options – nuts, raisins, craisins, etc. you know the deal.
Pour the dough into greased baking pans and bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Small loaves take around 30 minutes, a normal-sized loaf takes around 50 minutes. Muffins took about 15 – 20 minutes pending on the final texture that you want!
Remove from the oven. This bread is great warm, but it is excellent cold too.
After they have cooled for 5 or 10 minutes the loaves can be removed from the pan to cool.
Set up for others to gobble up – and they will be gobbled up!

Cheers

n

Leave a Reply

