To Mixed Berry French Toast Bake

Living in a Co-op we (the housemembers) are all responsible for cooking one meal a week with a fellow housemate. Last week I jumped on board for brunch (nothing beats a great brunch to start off a good Sunday). I decided I would try the French Toast Bake that my dad had found this summer. I knew it tasted great so was pretty sure I could try my hand at it. After getting my parental units to email me the recipe I set off to the store to get the necessary ingredients. This recipe is extremely easy and the end product is delicious – the one thing to take note of is that you have to prep it the night before so that it can soak. I am not a huge fan of French toast – usually people make it taste to egg-y (and I do like eggs hmmm), but I love this dish – definitely not to egg-y.

Ingredients:

1 loaf (1 pound) French bread, cubed
6 egg whites (I used liquid egg whites – that way you don’t have to worry about using all those egg whites for something else)
3 eggs
1-3/4 cups milk (next time I am gonna try soy milk)
1 tsp. sugar
1 tsp. ground cinnamon (add a little more if you are a cinnamon lover like me)
1 tsp. vanilla extract (Mexican vanilla extract is the best – you can find it at your local azienda)
¼ tsp. salt
1 package (12 oz.) frozen mixed berries (I think I may try a different fruit next time – maybe peaches)
2 tbsp. cold butter
1/3 cup packed brown sugar

Directions:

Place bread cubes in a 9×13 inch baking dish coated with cooking spray.
In a large bowl, combine the egg whites, eggs, milk, sugar, cinnamon, vanilla and salt and pour over the bread. Cover and refrigerate for 8 hours or overnight.
Thirty minutes before baking, remove the berries from the freezer and set aside. Also remove the baking dish from the refrigerator. Bake covered (foil)  at 350 for 30 minutes.
In a small bowl, cut butter into brown sugar until crumbly. Sprinkle berries and brown sugar mixture over the French Toast. Bake, uncovered for 15-20 minutes or until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean.
Serve with the rest of your brunch spread or solo – your family and friends will love you for it. One picture is of the Mixed Berry French Toast Bake and the other is of our Brunch Table on the porch all set up!

Cheers

n

Leave a Reply

