To Nat(ural) Hummus

I’ve been wanting to make homemade hummus for ages now. We use to make it all the time when we lived in the Middle East (or I should say my mums did and I just devoured it with friends when they came over). Problem is at home my parents buy Sabra – Roasted Pine Nut hummus and it is just sooooo good that we always have it our house and I don’t want to be seen as wasteful by making hummus when we already have hummus. Anyways – moving into Greenhouse I realized that they buy chick peas in bulk  with one of the #1 things they use them for being hummus. Problem  – dry chick peas you have to soak/cook for about 8 hours before you can use them so whenever I want to make hummus I would have to wait 8 hours and by then life has hit me again and I don’t have the time. Well this weekend one of my fellow housemates cooked chick peas as their weekly chore (bean cooking) and with them sitting there all ready to be processed into hummus I knew that I couldn’t resist. So after having already made the awesome baklava, white chocolate chip macadamia cookies (recipe to come) and panzanella (recipe also to come) I was determined to finish my night of kitchen mania with hummus. The good thing with hummus is that it is a pretty quick thing to whip up (once you have chick peas ready to go). So chick peas, lemon, tahini, garlic, salt, olive oil, a food processor and some water (chickpea liquid)  later and I had quite delish hummus. I plan on using it on my sandwiches this week – it just adds another dimension to deliciousness. We even have pita bread in the kitchen right now so I may have to toast some of that up and eat it alongside my homemade hummus!

Ingredients:
2 cups of chickpeas (or 1 16oz. can)
1/4 cup liquid from cooking the chickpeas – or the liquid from the can
3-5 tablespoons lemon juice (depending on taste)
1 1/2 tablespoons tahini
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons olive oil

Directions:
Drain chickpeas and set aside liquid from can. Combine remaining ingredients in blender or food processor. Add 1/4 cup of liquid from chickpeas. Blend for 3-5 minutes on low until thoroughly mixed and smooth.
Place in serving bowl, and create a shallow well in the center of the hummus.
Add a small amount (1-2 tablespoons) of olive oil in the well. Garnish with parsley (optional).
Serve immediately with fresh, warm or toasted pita bread, or cover and refrigerate.
Add cayenne pepper – on another spicy pepper for a spicy variation (not everyone in the house likes spice so I will just add this to my individual portions).

Enjoy (:

Cheers

n

Leave a Reply

