To Carob Banana Chia Vegan Overnight Oats

Yahoo! I have officially made my first overnight oats! And posted two vegan recipes in a row! AND two oatmeal recipes! Dang – I’m on a roll (:

Maybe not the most appetizing looking but they really are delish – I promise.

Thanks to Oh She Glows for providing so many overnight oats recipes to finally convince me that I had to try some. There is quite a long list of flavor combinations for overnight oats and as I really liked them and they are healthy too, I will probably be sharing with you more of the recipes I try! Let me know if you know of other good sources for overnight oats (:

After my morning run these hit the spot (remember this is coming from a gal who is not a big oatmeal fan). Not to mention the morning preparation is nada…well open drawer grab spoon, open fridge grab oats, jam spoon in oats, jam spoon in mouth and repeat the latter two steps until you have an empty bowl – then wash. You will be all powered up for the day!

Ingredients: (1 serving)

1 cup Almond milk (or your choice)

1/3 cup regular oats

1 tbsp carob powder (I buy it at bulk Barn)

2 tbsp chia seeds

Tiny pinch of kosher salt

1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract

1-2 tbsp pecans

1 ripe banana, chopped

Maple syrup to drizzle, to taste (optional)

Directions:

Mix the dry ingredients (oats, carob powder, chia seeds, optional walnuts, salt) in a medium sized bowl with a whisk.

Now pour in the milk and pure vanilla extract, Whisk well until all clumps are gone. Finally, Stir in the chopped ripe banana.

Place in the fridge for 2 hours or overnight. You can cover it, or leave it under covered. When ready, give it a good stir and enjoy. Drizzle a bit of maple syrup on top if you wish! I also put a bit of cinnamon on top mmmhhhhmmm – back to eating it (:

Cheers

n

To Sweet Potato Oatmeal Breakfast Casserole

I made this last Sunday for breakfast brunch with my two friends who came down. Not only did we all devour it, but I thought cooking for them was the least I could do since they had put up with me and my tooth pain (yada yada yada you are probably sick of me mentioning my tooth, but Ill be done complaining and bringing it up tomorrow after my 2 hour long surgery). With a sore mouth this was a smart choice dish because it was nice and soft and chewing wasn’t really required (although I sometimes inhale my food so chewing isn’t always a part of my eating process…should work on that).

I am not a big oatmeal person but this sold me…so much that I really want to prep overnight oats tonight for breakfast in the morning…maybe I am coming around. I love oats – like will eat a handful of dry oats, oats in cookies are great and with milk too, but when you cook it the texture gets me – but not this dish. Maybe it is the secret powers of the banana that is in the dish that makes me have an infinite love for it, hmmmm, Ill keep pondering it, but time to share this delectable and vegan dish (:

Source: Oh She Glows

Ingredients:

Oatmeal Ingredients:

1/2 cup regular oats

2 cups organic soy milk

1 small sweet potato, peeled, chopped (made 2 cups raw or 1.5 cups cooked)

1 ripe large banana (lots of brown spots ripe)

1 tbsp chia seeds (if you omit, you may have to reduce the milk)

1-2 tsp pure vanilla extract

1 tsp ground cinnamon + 1/8th tsp nutmeg + 1/4 tsp kosher salt, or to taste

2 tbsp pure maple syrup

Crunchy Pecan Topping:

1/3 cup chopped pecans

2 tbsp Earth Balance

2 tbsp flour

1/4 cup brown sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F. Bring several cups of water to a boil in a medium sized pot. Add in the peeled and chopped sweet potato. Cook over medium heat, for about 5 minutes, until fork tender. Drain and set aside.

Give the pot a quick rinse and then add in the oats, milk, and chia seeds. Whisk well and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low-medium and cook for about 5-7 minutes, stirring frequently.

With a potato masher, mash in the cooked sweet potato and the banana into the pot. I left some chunks for texture. Now stir in the cinnamon, maple syrup, nutmeg, and salt to taste. Adjust seasonings if necessary. Cook on low for another few minutes.

Make the crunchy pecan topping by mixing together the pecans, flour, Earth Balance (or butter), and brown sugar with a fork. until very clumpy. Pour the oatmeal into a baker dish (I used a 4 cup/8 inch casserole dish) and spread out evenly. Now sprinkle on the pecan topping.

Transfer the oats to a casserole dish (8inch/4cup or whatever you have!) and bake, uncovered, for 20 minutes, at 350F. After 20 minutes, set oven to BROIL and broil on low for a couple minutes, watching very closely so you do not burn the topping. Remove from oven and serve. makes 3-4 servings.


Note: If you want beautiful pictures like Angela then be a little more patient than my friends and I – we started to cut it when it was still super hot and while it was delicious it was not in a state to photograph post serving. (:

Cheers

n