To Vegan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vegan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip CookiesMy friend Jess raved about these cookies that her mums made for Christmas saying that you could eat them and not feel guilty or be hit with a sugar high since they weren’t too sugary but rather banana bread in the form of cookies.

I finally got to form my own opinion this weekend when I made them. I love them too! I’m a huge banana fan – some days I eat as many as 3 – crazy I know, but they are my protector when it comes to shin splints.

These cookies were nice and crispy on the outside and chewy good on in the inside.

Ingredients: Recipe adapted from Daily Garnish 
Yield: 2 1/2 – 3 dozen cookies

1 very ripe medium banana, mashed
1/3 cup canola oil
2/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup chopped pecans, toasted
1/2 cup chocolate chips (vegan, if desired) (I used mini choc. chips and I was glad I did – it spread chocolate flavor through even more of the cookies)
1-2 tbsp. apple sauce (I needed a little more liquid)

1/2 tsp. baking powder – this was an accident I read baking soda wrong (I put baking soda in also), but I think they were a little puffier with the baking powder and that’s how I like cookies so it was a good accident.

DSCN0403

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment. Set aside.
In a large bowl, combine the mashed banana, sugar and oil (and applesauce). Stir until well combined. Add in the vanilla.
Stir in the flours, baking soda, (baking powder) salt and ground cinnamon, stirring until well combined. Add in the oats, pecans and chocolate chips; stir until just combined.
Use a cookie scoop to drop cookie balls on baking sheet and flatten slightly with a spatula. Bake for 9-12 minutes, or until lightly browned around the edges (mine only took 9 minutes). Cool on baking sheet for 2 minutes. Transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

Cheers

n

One thought on “To Vegan Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

